PMTA General Meeting Minutes June 7, 2014 Gettysburg, PA 17325 12:00 noon

Meeting was called to order by President Steven Smith.

Approval of minutes: Motion to approve by Jocelyn Swigger, seconded by Teri Smith, unanimously approved.

Conference: Thanks to:

conference co-chairs Elaine Friedlander and Mary Lynne Bennett; hosts Jocelyn Swigger and Kay Hoke at the Sunderman Conservatory of Gettysburg College; vendors Menchey Music and Jacobs Music from Philadelphia; the Sunderman Conservatory of Music at Gettysburg College for sponsoring Friday's reception the National Steinway Organization for co-sponsoring Saturday's reception

MTNA: President Smith reported that, in tomorrow's board meeting, the board will sign on to a document certifying to MTNA nationals that PMTA has adopted the reform practices required by the Federal Trade Commission. Those reforms require that every affiliate association remove anticompetitive language from its bylaws and ethics clauses, eliminating the threat of expulsion for members who compete. The reforms also require PMTA to agree not to discuss uniform costs, pricing, make-up policies, etc. PMTA has already made the required changes in language in its documents.

Upcoming events:

Dorothy Sutton Festival and MTNA/PMTA competitions: November 22-23 at Penn State University Park

Next PMTA Conference June 12-14 2015 at Penn State University Park

New event: Keystone chamber music competition March 7 2015, also at Penn State. Nanette Kaplan-Solomon and Gloriana Sewell are coordinating.

2016 PMTA conference is under contract to be at Seven Springs Mountain Resort in Western PA (date TBA).

Recognition of officers:

Deborah Rodgers, membership chair (term ending 2015; also President-elect for 2015) Jocelyn Swigger, secretary, after the departure of Yvonne Alling for New Hampshire Jacqueline Herbein, treasurer

Gilya Hodos, immediate past president

Recognition of other board members: Lois Svard, Patricia Powell, Susan Kuntz, Paul Fierro, Nanette Kaplan-Solomon, Teri Smith

Recognition of conference co-chairs: Elaine Friedlander and Mary Lynne Bennett

Membership incentive:

Jacqueline Herbein, treasurer, announced that PMTA will offer a one-time free state and local membership for any college grad within their first five years after graduating. Also, MTNA dues are cut by 50% after joining; interested members should e-mail Jacqueline Herbein or Deborah Rodgers for a rebate check. Also, new PMTA members qualify for free one-time state membership if they register for a conference. Local associations are requested to please remind members, especially new members, to attend the state conference. New member Amanda Gunderson qualifies for this, and will receive the check immediately after the meeting.

Service recognitions:

Distinguished service award: Marilyn Granahan nominated Francine Christy, saying she is a member of three chapters, is completing her second term as chapter president, and is "the first one to volunteer whenever help is asked for" and "reliable, competent and generous to a fault." Francine Christy accepted the award, saying she was honored and puzzled to receive it, and grateful to the Philadelphia chapter where she just completed her second term as president with co-president Joanne Kirchner. She thanked everyone, especially her sister who nominated her.

Teacher of the year award: Jane O'Mara nominated Edward Kuhn, saying he teaches advanced students at the college level and also younger students at a community school, bringing out the best musicianship from everyday students. He has been a strong supporter for PMTA, the Dorothy Sutton festival, and also has been on the board of PMTA and MTNA foundation chair. A surprised Edward Kuhn accepted the award.

Introduction of distinguished guests: President Smith introduced guest clinician Nancy O'Neill Breth and conference artist and keynote speaker Peter Mack.

Raffle to benefit MTNA: Ed Kuhn presented the raffle tickets, and Steven Smith drew Elaine Friedlander's name.

Motion to adjourn: Motion to adjourn by Donna Kay, seconded by Susan Kuntz, unanimously approved

Respectfully submitted by Jocelyn Swigger, secretary