Minutes of Pennsylvania Music Teachers Association Annual Meeting

12:30 pm Saturday, June 10 2017 Lebanon Valley College, Annville, PA

Presidential Report from President Deborah Rodgers:

*Membership renewals in 2017 held firm, with a decrease of just 6 members. *Dorothy Sutton Performance Festival has a new recital registration system; thanks to Jacqueline Herbein and Millie Eben for streamlining the behind-the-scenes process *There is a new page on the PMTA website with an archive of past commissioned composers

*The new PMTA policies on child abuse clearances, passed in July 2016 in accordance with new legislation, are on the PMTA website at <u>https://www.pamusicteachers.org/for-members/pmta-clearance-policy/</u>

The new policy regarding events states that:

- 1. Minor students (under 18) participating in PMTA events must be accompanied by a parent or other responsible adult designated by the parent.
- 2. PMTA members will follow the criminal background check policy that the host institution (where the event is held) has in place.
- 3. In the event that the host institution does not have a policy in place, PMTA members should adhere to the following guidelines:

Any adjudication under PMTA's auspices should take place under one of these two requirements:

- 1. An adjudicator who has passed criminal background check (FBI) and child abuse clearances within 5 years; OR
- 2. A parent of the student being adjudicated or a monitor is in the room so that there is no one-on-one contact.

*PMTA has provided sexual misconduct insurance, required by many colleges, so PMTA cannot use general liability insurance from MTNA.

*Congratulations to the Northern Delaware Valley chapter on its 30 year anniversary.

*The new MTNA Foundation Fellow for 2017 is Jacqueline Herbein.

*Thanks to this year's conference host, Eric Fung, of Lebanon Valley College.

*This fall's competition weekend, November 4-5, and next year's conference June 8-10 will be both be at Indiana University of Pennsylvania. Thanks to Henry Wong Doe for hosting both events. The 2018 competition weekend will be at Temple University.

*Three Pennsylvania students placed in the MTNA national competition. Congratulations to: Alan Tolbert and his teacher David Bilger – 2nd place Sr. Performance Brass Jason Brauer and his teacher Debra Perkins – 2nd place Senior Composition Baron Cao and his teacher Dea Baba – 3rd place Senior Piano

*The commissioned composer for 2018 will be Daniel Temkin of Lewisberg, PA.

*Thanks to conference organizers Elaine Friedlander and Mary Lynne Bennett.

*President Rodgers stated that it has been a pleasure to serve along with the PMTA board: Teri Smith, Dorothy Sutton Performance Festival Susan Kuntz, sponsorship Patricia Powell, collegiate membership Amanda Horn Gunderson, competitions Lois Svard, composer commissions Chris Guzman, collegiate faculty Gilya Hodos, local associations Paul Fiero, certification Nanette Solomon, collaborative and concerto festival Elaine Friedlander, conference organizer Mary Lynne Bennett, conference organizer Donna Beach, membership Jacqueline Herbein, treasurer Ed Kuhn, foundation Jocelyn Swigger, secretary Steven Smith, past president Mary Lynne Bennett, vice president

The proposed new executive committee consists of:

President: Mary Lynne Bennett Vice President: Ed Kuhn Secretary: Wendy Bachman Treasurer: Jacqueline Herbein Past President: Deborah Rodgers

Motion to install the executive committee members: Steven Smith. Seconded by Cecily Franklin, approved unanimously. The new executive committee will assume their roles July 1, 2017.

Membership: Donna Beech announced that PMTA offers a free state membership for new members if they register for the state conference in their first year, and presented checks for state membership to Roxanne Lee, Jean, Tina, and Yung-Joo.

Awards for Teacher of the Year and Distinguished Service: Steven Smith called on Mainline Chapter President Sue Koenig, who presented the Distinguished Service award to Elaine Friedlander. Steven Smith then called on Tim Shaefer, who presented the Teacher of the Year award to Amanda Gunderson. Everyone joined in congratulating Elaine and Amanda. Foundation Fund: Ed Kuhn reported that today's raffle raised about \$300. Deb Rodgers picked the name, and the winner was Roxanne Lee.

Conference Keynote Speaker: Elaine Friedlander presented Senator Andy Dinniman.

Motion to adjourn at 2pm: Jacqueline Herbein moved, Donna Kay seconded, unanimously approved.

Respectfully submitted, Secretary Jocelyn Swigger