2018 Keystone Composition Competition Contest

It’s not too soon to have your students begin working on their compositions for the 2018 Keystone Composition Competition. You can find the details for registering your students and submitting compositions on our website.  The deadline for next year’s competition is March 31, 2018. All information will be forwarded to the judges on April 1, so try to have everything completed and sent to Warren Magid on time at CompositionCompetitionsChair@pamusicteachers.org.
All ages and levels of students may enter:
Elementary – Age 5-10
Junior – Age 11-14
Senior – Age 15-18
Young Artist – Age 19-25
All students who place, as well as Honorable Mentions, are eligible to perform their compositions, or have them performed by others, at the 2017 PMTA Showcase Recitals, which will be held on Saturday, November 4, 2017 at Indiana University of Pennsylvania, Indiana, PA.
Cash awards and additional prizes are also awarded each year, and students (and teachers!) benefit from comments provided by the judges who review all the compositions.
If you are new to this event and would like more information, contact Warren Magid, Competition Chair, at reachme1@comcast.net.  He is happy to provide sample compositions from past winners in each category to teachers who are new to the event.

2017 Keystone Composition Competition Winners

Student Title Teacher
1st place An Tran Little March Millie Eben $75.00
2nd place Sindura Sridhar Sneaky Sleepwalkers Millie Eben $50.00
3rd place Aditya Nayak Letter of Love Millie Eben $40.00
HM An Tran Shooting Stars Millie Eben


Student Title Teacher
1st place Jackson Hunt Two Preludes Op 2 Yeeha Chiu $75.00
2nd place Rishi Raman String Quartet in B minor Marjorie Majka $50.00
3rd place Rishi Raman Ballade in D minor Marjorie Majka $40.00
HM Patrick Tran Japanese Garden Deborah Rodgers
HM Jennalyn Stuart Limitless Michele Millington
HM Krishna Nayak The Procrastinating Student Millie Eben


Senior Student
Student Title Teacher
1st place Jason Shu Two Pieces for String Quartet Vera Shissel $100.00
2nd place Sarah Shingle Dance of the Magyars Deborah Rodgers $75.00
3rd place Fernanda Morales Be Spontaneous Deborah Rodgers $50.00


Young Artist
Title Teacher
1st place Kory Hilpmann Unsettling Seas Justin Badgerow $100.00
2nd place Kory Hilpmann Dream Within A Dream Justin Badgerow $75.00
Judges were:
1. David Carpenter, Temple University
2. JP Meyer, Musical Director, Dutch Apple Theatre
3. Michael Rickelton, Peabody Conservatory